hh logo
Skip Links
Text Size
Text Bigger
Text Smaller
Last Updated
Monday, August 06, 2012

NSW Council Elections, 8 September 2012

Election of Mayor
Election of 6 Councillors

Voting on election day

Voting will take place on Saturday, 8th September 2012 between the hours of 8am and 6pm.

You need to be enrolled to vote for the Council where you live.

To check your enrolment details visit our website or call us. If you are not on the roll in NSW or your current enrolment details are not correct you may be eligible to enrol or update your details when you vote early or on election day. To newly enrol or up-date your details on the spot, just bring your NSW photo driver licence or NSW Photo Card showing your current address, and be ready to provide Australian citizenship details if you were born overseas.

Polling Places

With the exception of Sydney Town Hall polling place you must vote at a polling place shown below for your ward. On election day you cannot vote outside your Council - Ward area. To check your enrolment details visit our website above or call us.

On election day you can vote at Sydney Town Hall polling place, Lower Town Hall, 483 George Street, Sydney, (entry via Town Hall Square)

North Ward

Gladesville Christ Church Hall Gladesville, 1 Western Crescent
Gladesville Gladesville Public School, Victoria Road
Hunters Hill Boronia Park Public School, 113 Pittwater Road
Hunters Hill St Marks Church Hall Hunters Hill, Figtree Road

South Ward

Henley Henley Long Day Care Centre, 1A Crown Street
Hunters Hill Hunters Hill Public School, 17 Alexandra Street
Hunters Hill St Marks Church Hall, Figtree Road
Woolwich Marist Sisters' College, 66A Woolwich Road

Voting early in person

Pre-poll voting begins 8am Monday 27th August 2012 and ends at 6pm Friday 7th September 2012.

Early voting is available during Council business office hours Mon-Fri. For specific operating dates and times of each pre-poll voting centre visit the website or call us. You can vote in person at the following location:

Canada Bay Region Returning Officer's Office:
142 Great North Road, Five Dock NSW 2046

You can also vote early, at Sydney Town Hall, 483 George Street, Sydney from Friday, 31st August.

Voting by Post

You can apply online for a postal vote from www.votensw.info or by calling 1300 135 736. Your application must be completed and received by the NSW Electoral Commission no later than 5pm Monday, 3rd September 2012.

Candidates for Mayor

Candidate name Affiliation
QUINN Richard Independent
ASTRIDGE Peter Independent
SHEIL Meredith Independent
SHEERIN Ross Independent


Group Candidate name Affiliation
GROUP A ASTRIDGE Peter Independent
WARNER Peter Independent
BATSHON Bassam Independent
GROUP B QUINN Richard Independent
BENNETT Mark Independent
BIRD Gary Independent
GROUP C VELO Peter Independent
VITAS Nenad Independent
EDDINGTON Trent Independent
Ungrouped BUTT Murray Independent


Group Candidate name Affiliation
GROUP A AMOS Charles Independent
CLAXTON Julian Independent
HINDS Joan-Mary Independent
GROUP B SHEERIN Ross Independent
MESSINA Vince Independent
SHERMAN Matt Independent
GROUP C McLAUGHLIN Justine Independent
SHEIL Meredith Independent
LIN Jason Independent
GROUP D MILES Zac Independent
JOYCE Anastasia Independent
CROLL Annabel Independent
Ungrouped SANDERSON Jim Independent

Candidates Information Sheet

Candidate’s information sheets are available for viewing at www.votensw.info or at the Returning Officer’s office. Information: www.votensw.info or call 1300 135 736

For enquiries in languages other than English call our interpreting service 13 14 50
For hearing and speech impaired enquiries, call us via the National Relay Service on 13 36 77

Powered by