hh logo
Skip Links
Text Size
Text Bigger
Text Smaller
Last Updated
Wednesday, 11 July 2018

Local Planning Panels

On 14 August 2017 new legislation was introduced that requires the City of Wollongong and all Sydney Councils to have Local Planning Panels (previously called Independent Hearing and Assessment Panels) in place by 1 March 2018. From this date no development applications in Sydney or Wollongong will be assessed by Councillors as this role will handled by council staff or the members of the planning panels.

Council’s submission about the panels can be found on our website under Planning & Heritage/Submissions and further information about this significant change can be found at Department of Planning and Environment - Independent Hearing and Assessment Panels.

Councillors and Mayors are not permitted to be on the panels in their local government area, nor are property developers or real estate agents.

The relevant legislation allows for the Minister to constitute a council’s Planning Panel if the Council had not done so by 1 March 2018. In the interest of ensuring Hunters Hill panel included members that appreciated the special characteristics of the area, council undertook a rigorous process including a workshop to shortlist potential candidates and interviews. At the ordinary council meeting 4434 held on 26 February 2018, the Council resolved to appoint the following members to constitute its Local Planning Panel. Full minutes of meeting 4434 are available on the website under council meeting and reports.

Local Planning Panels Meeting Schedule 2018

The Local Planning Panel is scheduled to meet monthly on the third Thursday of the month at 4.00 pm in the Chamber.

1 Thursday15 March
2 Thursday 19 April Meeting Cancelled No Applications
3 Thursday 17 May Meeting Cancelled No Applications
4 Thursday 21 June
5 Thursday 19 July
6 Thursday 16 August
7 Thursday 20 September
8 Thursday 18 October
9. Thursday 15 November
10. Thursday 20 December

Hunters Hill Local Planning Panel

The Hon. David Lloyd QC
Ms Lesley Finn (alternate)
Mr Peter Webber (alternate)

Expert Panel Members:
Sheridan Burke
Chris Young (alternate)

David Logan
Ron Edgar (alternate)

Community Representatives:
Meredith Sheil
Virginia Wise (alternate)
Phillip Hart
Richard Quinn (alternate)

If you wish to address the Local Planning Panel, please complete the form. This must be submitted to Council no later than 12 noon on the Tuesday prior to the relevant meeting. Applications after this time will not be accepted.

Powered by